Audible Mumbo Jumbo

This week, I was assigned Ishmael Reed’s book Mumbo Jumbo for my Blues & Jazz course. For some reason, I just could not get into reading it. It’s not that it’s boring. It’s just that I would pick it up and my mind would wander, so I decided to give Audible a shot using a free trial from The Memory Palace.  Through the offer,  I got to download an audiobook of my choice: Mumbo Jumbo.

While I will always stand by reading in its standard form, I have to say that I really enjoyed the audiobook. I wasn’t sure how well I would like it, but I’m almost done and have no complaints. I listened to it while getting ready for the day, on my way to class, on my run, cooking, and cleaning the house. It’s a different experience from spending a day curled up with a book and your own imagination, but it’s different in a good way.

And now, one of my favorite quotes from the book itself:

Have you seen people line up outside a Van Gogh exhibit? When they get inside there are so many they can’t even see the paintings, they just pass by like sheep or like mourners passing the tomb of a fallen hero, a bier, with the same solemnity. And the extent of their knowledge concerning Van Gogh is that he “cut off his ear.” Man, it’s religion they make it into.

 

Your thoughts?

